Food Blogged by: Charlestown Square 05 Nov 2018

Easy Traditional Christmas Pudding


Nothing marks a traditional Christmas more than a beautiful, warm, rich Christmas pudding. But they often take a lot of preparation and time to get right. This version cuts the fuss, but doesn’t compromise on the end product.
 
Ingredients
(serves 10-14)
2 cups plain flour
2 cups breadcrumbs
2 cups dried mixed fruit
1 cup brown sugar
3 tsp mixed spice
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup milk
2 tbsp melted butter
2 eggs
Brandy to serve
Option: If you’d like some more crunch, you can add a cup of chopped nuts of your choice to the mixture.
 
Method
• Mix the dry ingredients with the melted butter.
• Mix through the milk and eggs.
• Grease a pudding tin with melted butter and pour in the mixture.
• Fill a large saucepan halfway with water, bringing to the boil. The water may need to be topped up through the process.
• Add the pudding tin to the water, reduce the water to a simmer and let cook for 2 hours. The pudding is ready when a skewer inserted comes out clean.
• Place pudding on a serving dish, serve on the table, then pour a good slosh of brandy on top, setting alight. Once the flame disappears, serve with warm custard.Tip: Given the cooking method of a Christmas pudding, please monitor the saucepan at all times, especially if you have little people wandering around.
 
Nutrition Information   
Per Serve
Energy 1442kJ (343kcal)
Protein 7.5g
Fat – total 4.6g / saturated 2.4g
Carbohydrate 67.3g – total / sugars 34.9g
Dietary fibre 3.9g
Sodium 237mg
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
GET AHEAD OF THE CROWD
Get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Get the latest offers, event details and all that is happening in-centre. By signing up, you agree to our collection and handling of your information as described in our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy. You can opt-out of receiving our emails at any time.
Opening hours
Christmas Trading Hours
Sat, 14 Dec 2019 - 9am - 6pm
Sun, 15 Dec 2019 - 9am - 6pm
Mon, 16 Dec 2019 - 9am - 7pm
Tue, 17 Dec 2019 - 9am - 7pm
Wed, 18 Dec 2019 - 9am - 7pm
Thu, 19 Dec 2019 - 9am - 11.59pm
Fri, 20 Dec 2019 - 9am - 9pm
Sat, 21 Dec 2019 - 8am - 7pm
Sun, 22 Dec 2019 - 8am - 7pm
Mon, 23 Dec 2019 - 8am - 9pm
Tue, 24 Dec 2019 - 8am - 5.30pm
Wed, 25 Dec 2019 - Closed
Thu, 26 Dec 2019 - 8am - 9pm
Fri, 27 Dec 2019 - 9am - 5.30pm
Sun, 29 Dec 2019 - 9am - 5pm
Sun, 29 Dec 2019 - 10am - 5pm
Mon, 30 Dec 2019 - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue, 31 Dec 2019 - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed, 01 Jan 2020 - Closed
Thu, 02 Jan 2020 - 9am - 9pm
Black Friday Trading Hours
Fri, 29 Nov 2019 - 9am - 9pm
Regular trading hours
Mon - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu - 9am - 9pm
Fri - 9am - 5.30pm
Sat - 9am - 5pm
Sun - 10am - 5pm
Location
Charlestown Square
30 Pearson Street
Charlestown NSW 2290
Phone: 02 4944 4333